If I Could Be Anywhere Right Now…

Writing 101: A Room with a View (Or Just a View)

We’re all drawn to certain places. If you had the power to get somewhere — anywhere — where would you go right now? For your twist, focus on building a setting description.

I close my eyes and wish that I was with my best friend right now – someone I haven’t been with in more than two years now. She lives in Pakistan and I in London and therefore it does become quite hard to meet up.

And when I open my eyes, I’m there.

Her room is quite big and though there are two single beds, it’s been a long time since one of them was used. Anee Shahzad, sits on her bed, the other, vacant since her sister moved out. She looks excited and anxious at the same time. It’s because the countdown to her wedding has begun and in just over a week my friend will be a bride. Even though she’s twenty years old, she looks much younger and I feel a pang of worry for my naive friend.

The walls of her room are covered with yellow flower cut-outs – she was always an artistic person and did crazy things to decorate her room. I remember the five long years I spent in this city, five essential years with this crazy person who I can call my best friend. We went to school together, we got in trouble together, so much that we were known for being the ‘troublemakers’. Teachers would come to know of any unrest in the school and they would automatically blame me and Anee.

She’s excited to see me because she never actually thought I’d make it there for her wedding. Sitting next to her, I try and assure her that getting married isn’t so bad, that it will all be fine and that she doesn’t have to worry.

So as I really open my eyes and find that I am still sitting in my room in London, I frown. I miss my friend.

10 thoughts on “If I Could Be Anywhere Right Now…”

  1. I enjoyed your post. I imagined you on vacation at your friend’s house to later discover you were simply visualizing in your head. Great text structure.

  2. Awwwww aminaa thats soo sweeet of u!!!:* :* honest 2 god!!! I MISS U BOHAT!!!! :*:*
    READING THIS HAVE MADE ME REALISED THAT I LOVE U EVEN MORE!!!!:*:*
    I hope ye sach hota!:*:*
    This one page made my dayy!!! :*:*
    Ur an honest perfect frend one could hv!!!:*:*sache nd i m very lucky!! :*
    Getting married soon IA!!!! WILL MISS U LOADS!!!:*:*:*:*

Write a Comment

