That’s a lot of Money!

Gone with the Windfall

You just inherited $1,000,000 from an aunt you didn’t even know existed. What’s the first thing you buy (or otherwise use the money for)?

First of all I’d check how much that is in pounds.

Yep, it’s a lot of money.

However, since I read Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, I’ve been inspired by one of the characters, Jo. A tomboy like me, she grows up to open up a home for orphan boys with classrooms, bedrooms, staff and fields outside to play in.

I read this book when I was very young, but her dream became my dream and to this day I imagine myself running such a place. Given the money that’s exactly what I plan to do.

The house would be a big bungalow with three floors. The ground floor would be classrooms where all the children would study every morning. Routine is must. It would also have a massive kitchen and seating area where my adopted children would have natural foods that they help grow themselves.

The middle floor would have all the bedrooms and bathrooms and the children can decorate their own rooms as they wish. Something I never really got to do.

The top floor could be an open spaced play area with games. Now there are two ways I can imagine this space: one, with amazing game consoles and a huge screen to watch movies on; the other, a no-technological house. So much more natural, but kids nowadays want their games. I’ll see.

And lots of books. Definitely, lots and lots of books.

The house would face a beatiful green space with trees and flowers and swings and a big swimming pool. Each child would also have his/her own kitten so they can learn a sense of responsibility and also have a cuddly animal to love and care for.

A life like that would be so rewarding.

What would you do with your money? Comment below.

4 thoughts on “That’s a lot of Money!”

Write a Comment

