What CV’s Should Really Look Like

This is what my CV looks like.
This is what my CV looks like.

This is what it SHOULD look like.
This is what it SHOULD look like.

CV’s, Job applications and Interviews are so full of lies and bullshit that it makes me cringe. Personal profiles are formal and contains exactly the things employers want to hear. In an interview you are asked why you want to work for that particular company and you have to sound like it’s the only place you want to work.

I applied for a job at Sainsburys a while back and one of the questions was: why did you apply for a job here. I regretted not sounding more in love with the company after I didn’t get the job (surprise, surprise) but it made me laugh. Of course the company knows we are only faking it so why do they still expect us to feign love?

Why can’t we just be really honest and still get a job? I know I would work my ass off if I was employed but until someone employs me they can’t be sure I will. It’s basically whoever can speak in the fanciest way is more likely to get a job.

 

Write a Comment

