Thanatophobia – Fear of Death

fear-of-deathThanatophobia – fear of dying, of someone you know dying, or just anything related to death. I have never lost someone close to me; have always just heard people tell me how hard it is. It’s a constant fear for me, like a looming darkness waiting round the corner to take me by surprise.

To think that someone, anyone could just cease to exist is just… hard to imagine. One day they are there, laughing, crying, very real and the next day they could be buried deep in the ground, never to be seen again.

It’s scary to say the least.

I’m naturally scared of dying too; the unknown is always very creepy. However, I would rather die than have someone close to me leave me forever.

I hope and wish that I never have to go through that kind of pain but I know it’s inevitable. All things must see an end – I just hope I’m the first one to go.

To learn about my past fear read Autophobia – Fear of Being Alone

One thought on “Thanatophobia – Fear of Death”

Write a Comment

