Follow Your Dream

589323_orig

I have recently been going through some of the stuff that I wrote years back. I have realised that my imagination was much more powerful back then, my vocab was richer and my passion was more evident.

What I wrote was definitely cringe-worthy but I had the determination and passion that spurred me to write for hours on end. I would write little pieces that made no sense but helped unburden my mind and heart of frustration.

Now that I’m older I find it hard to actually sit down and write something. When I do I seldom want to publish it or let anyone read it. So many times I have started writing fiction and decided that it sounds wrong, boring, unworthy of continuing.

For me it’s writing; for others it may be something else. When we are young we are so unafraid to be who we are and do exactly what we want to do. Our imagination and passion is like a massive ocean, flowing around us, touching others, inspiring them. When I look at kids they have so much potential, so much promise. They want to do all kinds of things and they actually believe that they will do it.

And then we grow up. Our dreams become just that – dreams. We forget to remember that they are achievable. We slave around at a shit job, have next to no hobbies and are so afraid to try something new, to strive for our hopes and dreams.

I was talking to one of my friends last night. “I tell you what I would really love to do – to go to war zones and help people who are struggling.” He said.

My heart went out to this amazing dream that he has but is scared to go after. More and more obstacles arise as you get older but we need to fight it and fight for what we love and want.

Each and every one of us has a dream. So few of us actually follow those dreams and become what we are born to do.

“If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it. If you don’t ask, the answer is always no. If you don’t step forward, you’re always in the same place.”

― Nora Roberts

Write a Comment

